KAVC off to Kigali for the 23rd Genocide Memorial Tournament 3-4 June 2017


The Vice President Ms. Milly Kure this morning led a strong contingent of our women and men’s teams to the 2017 edition of the Genocide Memorial Tournament in Kigali Rwanda slated for this weekend 3rd & 4th June 2017. The 26 man crew left by private means and will be vying for silverware with other East African teams.

Coach Charles Nabbamba will be handling the women’s team comprising the following players

  1. Anyero Sunday
  2. Haawa Talib Rajab
  3. Hope Harriet
  4. Ikapel Harriet
  5. Kobusingye Winnie
  6. Kobutungi Christine
  7. Kure Milly
  8. Kyomuhendo Lydia
  9. Nanyonga Madina Kyambadde
  10. Tusingwire Patience


While the men will be under the guide of Coach Daniel Okwee including

  1. Amanya Allam
  2. Ariho Pius
  3. Arionga Sam
  4. Atama Saviour
  5. Elanyu Emma
  6. Endra Joel
  7. Mugabi Ishaq
  8. Olila Jacob
  9. Omara Mark
  10. Omua Carlos
  11. Onapa Geff
  12. Ssengendo Joseph


Veteran star Pierre Kamugasha will assist both coaches and Manager Edward Kalyesubula is to take charge of the team’s logistics.

KAVC has a mark in the past on this event but it is a while since fetching silverware. The women have lifted the Rwandan title 4 times (2001, 2002, 2003, and 2009) and the men have 3 claims to the title (1998, 1999, and 2000). Other Ugandan teams on the tally are KCCA women with 3 (1998, 1999, and 2000) and the most recent are Sport S women (2016).

In 1995, KAVC was invited to travel to Kigali in commemoration of the Rwanda national team players who perished in the genocide and since then the competition has become a household affair for the club. In related news we shall also be fielding teams concurrently in the 2017 Nkumba Open Championship tomorrow and Sunday in Entebbe as confirmed by Manager Olive Aryemo.

Winners Since 1998

Edition Women Men
2016 Sport S (Uganda) UNIK (Rwanda)
2015 RRA (Rwanda) Rayon Sport  (Rwanda)
2014 RRA (Rwanda) Rayon Sport  (Rwanda)
2013 PIPELINE (Kenya) INATEK (Rwanda)
2011 RRA (Rwanda) APR (Rwanda)
2010 APR (Rwanda) APR (Rwanda)
2009 KAVC (Uganda) APR (Rwanda)
2008 KCB (Kenya) APR (Rwanda)
2007 KENYA APR (Rwanda)
2006 KENYA APR (Rwanda)
2005 RUGURU(Kenya) UNR(Rwanda)
2003 KAVC (Uganda) UNR(Rwanda)
2002 KAVC(Uganda) UNR(Rwanda)
2001 KACV(Uganda) KVC(Rwanda)
2000 KCC(Uganda) KAVC (Uganda)
1999 KCC(Uganda) KAVC (Uganda)
1998 KCC(Uganda) KAVC (Uganda)




Filed by our Reporters

Share Now

Related Post

Leave a Reply